Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the WSP

Held on 18 May 2021 at the WSP studio at 7 pm

Present	Sarah Wolf, Wendy Ball, Sanet Jooste, Sarah Lee, Alex Wilkinson, Julie Christine, Charlotte Burnett, Stacey Tillemans, Margaret Raine, Medina Jackson, Stuart Munro, Kelly Barnett-Dreadon, Therese May, Sarah Lee, Teresa Gibbison, Tim Edwards, Emma Meyers, Trish Seddon, Yasmin Davis, Stephen Williams, Rebecca Layburn.
Apologies	None
Previous	The previous AGM minutes of 11 August 2020 was taken and moved to
minutes	pass by Caryl and seconded by Jenni.
Financial	Sarah presented the financial report.
Report	 From being in financial trouble at the end of last year, the society is now in a better position with a profit of just more than \$50 000. Particular thanks went to Alex and Sarah for rescheduling the class roster which secured more income, and also for their sustained effort in submitting funding applications. Thanks was also expressed towards Yasmin and Jenni for arranging the Clay Festival. Not only was this a financial injection but a stimulation of inspiration and sense of community in the potter's community. Thanks was given for Sarah and Stephen for running the society from day to day. The Financial report as prepared by PKF and as presented at the meeting was accepted by all.
	 Sarah's treasurer's honorarium of \$2000 per year has been approved. Moved by Caryl and seconded by Margaret.
	Further to the report, the following changes were put before and accepted by the meeting with regards to the bank transaction protocol:
	"We, the committee of The Waikato Society of Potters, unanimously vote to remove Duncan Shearer, Susannah Salter, Belynda Mossop and Caryl Ginever as signatories and beneficial owners of the entity. The only remaining signatories / beneficial owners of the entity to be Wendy Ball, Sarah Wolf, Sarah Lee and Yasmin Davis. The committee requests that Sarah Wolf, Sarah Lee and Stephen be set up with individual online banking access to the Corporate online banking product (read only - no payment/transfer function) and that once their access is functional that Duncan Shearer's access be cancelled (current login WSPoffice)."
President's	Wendy presented the president's report.
report	 WSP had 300 members 18 months ago. This number dropped to less than 100 when covid hit. Currently we are back up at 220 members. We have employed a support for the manager. Stephen helps Sarah enormously and adds to the general smooth running of the studio. This is working out very well Sarah has been working beyond the call of duty. She was thanked by everyone.
	 Sarah and Alex have done the most of the brainstorming that got the WSP out of financial struggle. Jenni and Jasmin were thanked for their initiative and work done
	 with all the volunteers around the clay festival. Jenni Taris and Yasmin have retired from the teaching aspect of their memberships at the WSP but will still be very involved in workshops and other events. Special thanks to Berns for helping with the gas kiln.

	 Diploma has been a basis of financial support for the WSP. Diploma is now administered by Alex and running very well and in line with Otago Polytech guidelines and requirements. Clay is currently in short supply. We are working towards getting our supply back up. The current committee was thanked for their time during the past year.
Remit to the constitution	A remit to the constitution was submitted to the meeting. The remit was as follows: That 14 (f) be amended to read: "That a person elected as president hold that position for two years with the right of renewal of two years at the annual general meeting. In the event no member wished to stand for election to the office of president in the ensuing year the current president may be appointed for a further period as defined and approved by the members in a General Meeting. Such period may not exceed two years and the president must then automatically step down." This changed was accepted by all present
Election of officers	The following people were selected to the WSP Committee: 1. Wendy Ball 2. Sanet Jooste 3. Emma Meyers 4. Tim Edwards 5. Jenni Taris 6. Yasmin Davis 7. Sarah Lee 8. Medina Jackson 9. Teresa Gibbison 10. Terese May
Meeting Closed	The meeting closed at 7:45 pm.